Full Album show
Last Featured on this show April 23, 2017

Worldview is the alias of Oliver Shaw, an Oxford UK-based songwriter, performer and producer fusing rock, pop and dance sounds with insightful lyrics reminiscent of Elvis Costello or Morrissey and the melodic sensibility of the classic 60’s acts. Oliver began playing in bands, including one with Coldplay’s bassist-to-be, then spent several years honing a one-man band approach in his studio, writing, singing and playing everything in the manner of Stevie Wonder, early Prince or World Party. He self-released a debut solo album, the relationship-themed 'War Years', in late 2002, culled from home sessions. It enjoyed some airplay and praise for the “timeless quality” of the songwriting. A second set, 'Paying For It', followed in January 2005, with a more
diverse stylistic palette and topics ranging from celebrity and consumerism to the Iraq conflict; the Oxfordbands.com website judged it “chock full of good tunes, clever lyrics and…united by a consistent, if rather misanthropic, musical vision". He appeared many times at Oxford venues with a backing band from the ranks of fledging local acts, and performed some solo acoustic sets in London. Oliver then adopted a new format mixing live instruments and PC as Worldview, playing dates in Oxford and London and releasing the album 'Our Condition' in 2008; Oxfordshire Music Scene wrote: “Worldview's aptly titled 'Our Condition' takes a snapshot view of modern living, with its raw honest exploration of life today...It's a strong offering with music that combines the
ballads of REM with the dance beats of Duran Duran". The album track 'Entitlement' was later featured in the major BBC drama The Driver starring David Morrissey, broadcast in autumn 2014. The financial crisis was the subject of 2009's popular download single, 'Party’s Over', which featured on the diverse personal and political album 'Schoolboy Errors', released in February 2012. Other album highlights 'Golden Boy", 'Used To It' and 'Nadja' were similarly aired on radio shows and podcasts worldwide, and Oliver discussed the album and his musical path in the UK's Vents Magazine. Now largely a studio act, Worldview's most recent release was the October 2014 album 'Pop Philosophy'.

Worldview's 2014
album 'Pop Philosophy' is a mature reflection on life, loss and mortality in melodic, guitar-led rock songs with elements of electro, folk and funk.
A review of the album can be read here:
A promo containing radio edits of 4 tracks can be downloaded here: https://worldview.bandcamp.com/album/songs-from-pop-philosophy

Notes for the artist: This page will always be here under your name in "Featured Artists" - You can always send us an updated Bio using 'CONTACT' on Menu at the top of page.

# (PST) Name length Rating
1 9:00 Defiance 05:31 4
2 9:05 Looking Into It 04:52 4
3 9:10 Bad Faith 05:37 4
4 9:16 After The Fact 05:05 3
5 9:21 The Malady 04:31 4
6 9:26 Stories We Tell Ourselves 05:20 4
7 9:31 Hanging In The Air 03:56 4
8 9:35 Wonder 04:01 4
9 9:39 Whatever Works 04:32 3
10 9:44 The Long Run 04:46 4